Ellyse's Blog

EPEARL

Posted on: February 27, 2010

EPEARL is an online electronic portfolio that allows students to track their language and reading accuracy, comprehension and fluency. EPEARL stands for electronic portfolio encouraging active reflective learning. 

I had the opportunity to play around with EPEARL in my internship and along with my co-op teacher, set up accounts for all of the grade ones as well as the grade 6’s.  The Grade 6’s and Grade Ones then collaborated together to record their own readings in their portfolios.  The grade 6’s would help the grade ones get set up.  The amazing thing about this is that the Grade Ones will then get to track their reading all throughout grade one and if continued in other grades, they would be able to track their reading all the way to grade 12! 

Here is a snip-it of the importance of porfolios in students educational experiences. 

 
  EPEARL allows you to access your account as a student or as a parent to track your students progress.  It is an aesthetically pleasing website which easily guides you as to where you need to go.  There are endless help videos that you can access if you are having trouble. 

P.S.  This website is also offered in french!

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Collaborative Project! « Ellyse's Blog: [...] a glog about lit circles which was something that they wanted to start in the classroom.  My second blog post was about the things that I was l
  • Collaborative Project! « Ellyse's Blog: [...] deeper into their posts.  I also did a lot of their ‘polls’ that they had for fun!  My first blog post discusses the frustration I was fe
  • ellysehaas: Hi Jim! That would be great if you could migrate my account to EDU. I just finished up my degree here and am teaching a grade 5 class come fall and

Categories